Public Events & Retreats

Upcoming:

 

Wild Empty Spaces Book Launch Event: An Evening of Poetry and Storytelling

Saturday, April 28, 2018 | Vancouver — full details below

“These are beautiful poems, written by a man who is uncompromising in his longing for freedom, truth, and beauty. They are a summons to go deeper, to play with wild abandon, to love with more passion, and to die to all conventions that keep us small and imprisoned.” —Bruce Sanguin, Author of The Way of the Wind: The Path and Practice of Evolving Christian Mysticism

I’m excited to invite you to my book launch event! Poems will be read and stories shared as I weave words from my book into tales from my journey through wild empty spaces. 

In Wild Empty Spaces, you are led through six stages of the soul, from its arrival on Earth, through its expression in childhood, relationships, its summons to reflect, slow and gradually return to the wild empty spaces where we hear its whispers calling us home. This courageous journey is not so much about dying and death on a physical level, but about bowing to Mystery, to something much larger than our individual self.

More specifically, the poems are an emphatic invitation to become intimate with the subtle entreaties of Mother Nature, to walk with the wisdom of inquiry, feel deeply, dream boldly, and allow the force of our longings to break our hearts open. They are an invitation to brave the space between what we’ve always known, the spaces in which our immanent wildness finds us.

Location: Inner City Ashram | Studio 319 – 2556 East Hastings St. | Buzz 319 | Vancouver

*** Please arrive between 7:00pm and 7:25pm latest. The reading begins at 7:30pm.

*** RSVP by emailing events@vincegowmon.com
Space is limited to 40.
Admission is free.

Click here for the Facebook event page.

Sample poems:

She is the Door
When You Slow Down Enough

“In the tradition of Mary Oliver and David Whyte, Vince Gowmon has a powerful, compelling voice that speaks to the ecstasy and pain of living an awakened life. This book of poetry is a courageous, engaging, and daring invitation to dive deep into the body and belly of one’s being, a wise, soul stirring yet playful companion to life’s journey.” —Eva DiCasmirro, Somatic Psychotherapist

“This collection of poetry is a rallying cry for the heart. With his bold and playful style, Vince Gowmon inspires us to dig deeper into truth and beauty and stretch beyond what we believe it means to be alive. These are poems you can return to again and again, discovering new treasures of meaning and insight each time.” —Eric Bowers, Author of Meet Me In Hard- to-Love Places: The Heart and Science of Relationship Success

“Vince truly has a gift with words. His beautiful book of poetry gives me a similar depth of feeling to the poems of Mary Oliver and Rumi. I look forward to reading from Wild Empty Spaces during the yoga classes I teach.” —Gwen Hartland

Past events:

Communication Skills for Empowered Leadership Webinar Series

Enhancing Creativity, Collaboration and Engagement 

A 5-Session Webinar Series 

Fun, interactive, experiential, practical and insightful are just a few words to describe this series. It’s learning for anyone who wants to empower their voice and presence in their professional and personal lives.

  • Sunday, April 30, 2017
  • Sunday, May 7, 14, 21 and 28, 2017
  • 4:00-5:45 PM Pacific Standard Time
  • 7:00-8:45 PM Eastern Standard Time

Sessions will be recorded should you not be able to attend one!

Cost: Early bird rate is $159 CDN for all five sessions, expiring April 9th. Thereafter, it’s $189 CDN.

Click here for full information!

“Vince’s webinar series ‘Communication Skills for Empowerment Leadership’ has been a true gift for our team. I can safely say we have been impacted both personally and professionally. The learning process Vince shared in his gentle and mindful ways has been hugely applicable to daily life. I learned how important it is to communicate with careful empathic listening and expression. It is an excellent team building process as well as a loving gift to yourself.” ~ J. Malcolm, Manager, Oceanside Building Learning Together Society and School District 69 

*                    *                    *